John Wall doesn’t recruit players to the Wizards

Despite the Washington Wizards being an abysmal team this year (11-37 record), John Wall is having an All-NBA team worthy season, averaging 17.1ppg, 7.9apg, 4.8rpg, 1.3spg and 0.9bpg.  Those are impressive numbers and puts him in his rightful place among the top point guards in the NBA, yet the Wizards haven’t been able to capitalize on his success.  They just don’t have the talent.  Recently the team traded center Javale McGee and shooting guard Nick Young in a three-team deal that netted them Brazilian center Nene, power-forward Brian Cook (played at Illinois) and a 2nd round draft pick.  While the move appears to be a step in the right direction, you have to assume what the Wizards are really eyeing is the possibility of landing Anthony Davis or Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (he’s gone people) in the draft.  Only the Bobcats have a better chance at landing the top pick in next years draft, and unfortunately, that isn’t likely to change.  If the Wizards were able to land either Davis or Gilchrist, they could instantly transform themselves into a playoff contender and make me a very happy man in the process.

My aunt-in-law lives in Washington D.C. and my wife and I travel there often.  I have seen John Wall play multiple times in D.C. (and on the road in Indiannapolis on New Year’s Eve last year) and I would love nothing more than to have the opportunity to watch both JOHN WALL and ANTHONY DAVIS playing for the same team.  Are you kidding me?  The thought of it happening makes me feel like this kid.  The Wizards also have an opportunity to sign some free-agents in the off-season, but it’s not like stars are fighting over roster spots in Washington.

Recently Wall joined 106.7 The Fan in DC with The Mike Wise Show with Holden Kushner to talk about is growth as a leader, whether the Wizards are doing enough to keep him happy and whether he wants to play for Randy Wittman next season.  He also avoided answering a question about which free-agents he would want the Wizards to sign.

Have you grown as a leader or is it challenging?

“I’m growing it’s just…I got to be more of a vocal leader on the court you know what I mean? When things are not going right and I can’t get everybody their stats. Part of it is settling things down when teams go on a big run or something like that and we are not scoring.”

Has the organization done enough to keep you happy for the future in terms of trades and free agent signings?

“Yes I do. I’m liking what they’re doing. All the things they do especially NeNe [Hilario] gives us a great low post presence that can score and things like that. I feel very comfortable with the decisions and the right way we are going with this organization.”

If everybody was a free agent who would you want on your team right now that makes this team really matter?

“I’m really not one of those ones that want to recruit and kind of say who I want on my team. I just want guys that know how hard I play and how I can be better in this league and how this organization can try to change this thing around and get pieces around here that a lot of guys want to come join and play with me and with my other teammates.”

Do you have to be more vocal off the court with Andray Blatche?

“He’s doing the right things. He knows he needs to be in better shape than he was in coming back from the injury. He’s been doing a great job. He’s been in the gym the last couple of days working hard getting the extra work in and just trying to get back in better shape.”

Do you want to play for Randy Wittman next year?

“Yeah. I love Coach Wittman. Coach Wittman is a great coach. He is doing a great job of coaching us this year.”

Leave a Reply

