Future NBA Cats

20120403-054755.jpg

With Kentucky wrapping up the national championship it was destined to win last night, questions about the futures of most of the Kentucky players will inevitably begin to be asked. Last night reporters already started asking those questions.

When asked about his future, Anthony Davis was non-committal.

“Coach Cal said I have until April 29 to decide, I’m going to sit down and talk to my coach and my family and decide.”

Calipari said after the game that he hoped UK sets a new record by having 6 players drafted in the first round.

“What I’m hoping is there are six first-rounders on this team, I’m fine with that. That’s why I’ve got to go recruiting on Friday.”

NBAdraft.net projects 6 UK players to be drafted, including 5 in the first round; Anthony Davis No.1, Michael Kidd-Gilchrist No.2, Terrence Jones No.18, Doron Lamb No.23, Marquis Teague No.28, and Darius Miller No.35.

Draftexpress.com’s latest mock draft has Davis No.1, Gilchrist No.3, Jones No.12, Teague No.21 with Lamb and Miller going early in the second round.

There are only 3 players I can say for sure are leaving; Anthony Davis, Michael Kidd-Gilchrist and Marquis Teague. I’m assuming that Terrence Jones and Doron Lamb will both declare as all indications are that they will, but I have no information confirming that they will, as I do with Davis, Gilchrist and Teague. We shall see.

If all 6 Wildcats get drafted and make an NBA roster next year, and all of the current NBAcats stay put, that would give UK 21 players in the NBA, by far the most of any college.

;

Leave a Reply

