Worst Case Scenario: Anthony Davis joins Jamaal Magloire in Toronto

So last night I’m checking my emails and I find this very random Jamaal Magloire video. It’s funny enough, or possibly I’m tired enough to think it’s funny enough, to show it to you. When I viewed the video it had zero views, so I think I was the first. If you’re the first to read this and watch the video, you’re likely going to be the second person to watch it. Whoever the kid is who made the video tagged it well enough for it to pop up in my email box, and when I first saw it I literally almost fell out of my chair out of excitement that it may be an actual Jamaal Magloire highlight from an NBA game (they’re pretty rare these days). Instead I got a kid MC’ing his 2k game where he hits a three-pointer with Jamaal Magloire and closes with “I’m sexy and I know it”. Damn you internet.

On the brightside, the video did inspire me to do something else. Wonder what it would be like if Anthony Davis or Michael Kidd-Gilchrist ends up playing for the Toronto Raptors.

The Raptors currently have a 5.3% chance of landing the #1 pick and most likely will pick somewhere around #7, but there’s always the possibility they could move up high enough to draft a Gilchrist, or dare I say, even Anthony Davis. No offense to Canadians, but the Raptors are the last team I would ever want a UK player getting drafted by.

Why? Raptors games are hardly ever on television. Most UK fans don’t have NBA League Pass, and probably never will (unless the Kentucky Colonels return). That means most fans will be stuck either getting highlights on NBAcats.com (the smart choice) or enduring endless Tim Tebow blabber and NFL coverage on SportsCenter waiting for a 3 second blurb about Davis or Gilchrist (the stupid choice).

Not only that, Toronto is 573.37 miles from Lexington, and while that’s not as far as I thought it was, it’s too far away for me to feel close to the players, let alone go see a game. So keep your fingers crossed NBAcats Nation, we don’t want any of our players going to the Raptors.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that, because we love Jamaal Magloire and Canada…and even the Raptors. Just not the idea of Anthony Davis or Michael Kidd-Gilchrist playing for the Raptors. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

