Enes Kanter living his NBA Playoff dreams

20120506-011322.jpg

From The Salt Lake Tribune…

When the NBA playoffs started, Enes Kanter would always tune in. It was his favorite time for basketball, and the teenager would soak up as much postseason basketball as possible through the magic of television.

Now, Kanter’s a 19-year-old center with the Jazz. And after taking the court during Games 1 and 2 against San Antonio, the No. 3 overall pick of the 2011 draft said one of his childhood dreams has become reality.

“Last year, I couldn’t even play. Now, I’m in the playoffs with the team and it’s a great experience for me. … I’m learning a lot. I’m watching Tim Duncan. I’m watching Al [Jefferson] going against him. Every time when I’m not playing, the only thing I’m doing is watching,” said Kanter, prior to tipoff Saturday for Game 3 against the Spurs.

Kanter hasn’t been stuck on the bench. With Jazz coach Tyrone Corbin running a 10-deep rotation during the first two contests, Kanter’s continued to back up Jefferson in the post. The young big man played a combined 26 minutes during Games 1 and 2, and he scored eight points on 4-of-8 shooting while grabbing a team-high 10 rebounds Wednesday.

“[The playoffs are] different. The crowd, even how the fans are. People look at the players and they get so much excited,” Kanter said.

He added: “Last four of five years, I was always watching the playoffs. Now I’m actually in the playoffs. It’s just crazy to me.”

After scoring 2 points and grabbing 3 rebounds in last nights loss to the Spurs, Kanter is now averaging 4.7 ppg and 5.3 rpg in 3 postseason games.

The Jazz trail the Spurs 3-0 and will most likely get swept on Monday at 8:00 on TNT…unless of course they decide to start Enes in Game 4. If they do that, they’ll win the game and most likely the series. I’m serious.

(source: here)

Leave a Reply

